The United Nations Sustainable Development Group (UNSDG) unites the 36 UN funds, programmes, specialized agencies, departments and offices that play a role in development.

The UNSDG convenes three to four times a year under the chairmanship of the UNSDG Chair. The UNSDG is composed of senior representatives, preferably at the Assistant Secretary-General/Assistant Director-General level, designated by the executive heads of UNSDG member entities. UNSDG representatives are entrusted by their executive heads to take decisions on their behalf. Normally, there is one representative from each UNSDG member entity who may be accompanied by an organizational expert for substantive presentation and discussion.

Decision‐making is based on consensus among UNSDG members and are binding across the UNSDG working mechanisms.

UNSDG entities (as of March 2019) are:

  1. FAO: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
  2. IAEA*: International Atomic Energy Agency
  3. ICAO*: International Civil Aviation Organization
  4. IFAD: International Fund for Agricultural Development
  5. ILO: International Labour Organization
  6. IMO*: International Maritime Organization
  7. IOM: International Organization for Migration
  8. ITC: International Trade Centre
  9. ITU: International Telecommunications Union
  10. OCHA*: Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
  11. OHCHR: Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
  12. UNAIDS: Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS
  13. UNCTAD: United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
  14. UN DESA: United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs
  15. UNDP • UNCDF • UNV: United Nations Development Programme United Nations Capital Development Fund United Nations Volunteers
  16. UN DPA: United Nations Department of Political Affairs
  17. UN ECA: United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
  18. UN ECE: United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
  19. UN ECLAC: United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
  20. UNEP: United Nations Environment Programme
  21. UN ESCAP: United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
  22. UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
  23. UN ESCWA: United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
  24. UNFPA: United Nations Population Fund
  25. UN Habitat: United Nations Human Settlements Programme
  26. UNHCR: United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
  27. UNICEF: United Nations Children’s Fund
  28. UNIDO: United Nations Industrial Development Organization
  29. UNISDR: United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction
  30. UNODC: United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
  31. UNOPS: United Nations Office for Project Services
  32. UN PBSO: United Nations Peacebuilding Support Office
  33. UNRWA: United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East
  34. UN Women: United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women
  35. UNWTO: United Nations World Tourism Organization
  36. UPU*: Universal Postal Union
  37. WFP: World Food Programme
  38. WHO: World Health Organization
  39. WIPO*: World Intellectual Property Organization
  40. WMO: World Meteorological Organization

*Membership confirmation pending

Latest meeting


UNDG Meeting

30 June 2016




Marco Baumann

Special Assistant to the Director, UNDOCO